APTA Academy of Clinical Electrophysiology & Wound Management

Frequently Asked Questions

ACEWM Electrodiagnostic Special Interest Group FAQs


What is the difference in practice guidelines between an ABPTS board certified physical therapist and a physical therapist who is not a board-certified, but approved by the state board to perform EMG?

An ABPTS board certified PT meets the requirements to take a board examination (https://specialization.apta.org/become-a-specialist/minimum-requirements) and completes requirements to maintain certification. (https://specialization.apta.org/maintain-certification/maintenance). A non-ECS board-certified PT may have limitations on practice guidelines depending on the state’s practice act.

Are Physical Therapists reimbursed by federal and private insurance payors for EMG/NCS?

ECS board-certified PTs are reimbursed for Medicare and private insurance payors. Non-ECS board certified PTs are not reimbursed by Medicare for the professional component of the EMG/NCS and may have limitations with other private insurance payors depending on their individual policies.

What organizations and accrediting bodies support physical therapists performing EMG & NCS?

Please visit the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services website for more information. https://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-Service-Payment/PhysicianFeeSched/Diagnostic-Services-by-Physical-Therapists

What do I have to do to become a ABPTS clinical electrophysiology specialist?

Information regarding the application process can be found on the ABPTS website:


What residencies or training programs are available to best prepare physical therapists for board certification in clinical electrophysiology?

1. EMG Solutions: https://emgsolutions.com/residency-program 2. Hands-On Diagnostics/American Academy of Clinical Electrodiagnosis: https://handsoncompanies.com/electrodiagnostics/emg-ncv-residency 3. Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions: https://learn.rm.edu/s/event/a8B8X0000004EUAUA2/enmg-training-program-2023